Home Issues Candidates Recent Grid Archive Senate VoteMatch_Quiz
 Notebooks:   |   Bill   Sponsorships   Policy   Reports   Memberships/   Affiliations   Group   Ratings   Court   Rulings   Congressional   Surveys 

Bill Sponsorships
Policy Reports
Memberships / Affiliations
Group Ratings
Court Rulings
Senate Surveys

Bill Sponsorships:
Congressional bills 2011-2012
Congressional bills 2009-2010
2008 Presidential Contenders' bills
Congressional bills 1998-2008
2010 Senate signature bills
2008 Senate signature bills
2008 Presidential signature bills
Pres. Barack Obama's Senate signature bills
V.P. Joe Biden's Senate signature bills
Rep. Ron Paul's House signature bills
Sen. John McCain's Senate signature bills
Sen. Hillary Clinton's Senate signature bills

Congressional memberships 2012
Congressional memberships 2001-2011
112th Congress Committees
Congressional Caucuses
Congressional Group Ratings

Surveys: Collection of all surveys in one summary.
2012 Project Vote Smart
2012 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Faith2Action.org voter guide
2010 Project Vote Smart
Contract From America
Contract With America

Reports & Letters:
Governmental Reports
Resolutions 2011
Letters 2011
Supreme Court Rulings
Supreme Court 2011:

2008 Presidential
2004 Presidential
2000 Presidential
2008 Issues
2004 Issues
2000 Issues

Senate Votes:
Through 2011
Through 2009
Through 2007
Through 2003

House Votes:
Through 2011


Error processing SSI file

2009-SJR15 on May 6, 2009

Source: SJR.15&HJR.47
Proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States authorizing the Congress to prohibit the physical desecration of the flag of the United States.

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled (two-thirds of each House concurring therein), That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years after the date of its submission by the Congress:

Article--'The Congress shall have power to prohibit the physical desecration of the flag of the United States.'

    Participating counts on VoteMatch question 4. Question 4: Teacher-led prayer in public schools Scores: -2=Strongly oppose; -1=Oppose; 0=neutral; 1=Support; 2=Strongly support.
  • Topic: Civil Rights
  • Headline: Constitutionally prohibit flag desecration (Score: 1)
  • Headline 2: Sponsored bill to Constitutionally prohibit flag desecration (Score: 2)

  • Key for participation codes:
  • Sponsorships: p=sponsored; o=co-sponsored; s=signed
  • Memberships: c=chair; m=member; e=endorsed; f=profiled; s=scored
  • Resolutions: i=introduced; w=wrote; a=adopted
  • Cases: w=wrote; j=joined; d=dissented; c=concurred
  • Surveys: '+' supports; '-' opposes.

Democrats participating in 2009-SJR15

Evan Bayh s1sIN Former Democratic Senator
Chris Carney s1sPennsylvania Democrat (until 2010)
Travis Childers s1sMississippi Democrat (until 2010)
Mike Doyle s1sPennsylvania Democrat
Chet Edwards s1sTexas Democrat (until 2010)
Bart Gordon s1sTennessee Democrat (until 2010)
Debbie Halvorson s1sIllinois Democrat (until 2010)
Steve Kagen s1sWI Democratic Challenger
Ann Kirkpatrick s1sArizona Former Democrat (until 2010)
Dan Lipinski s1sIllinois Democrat
Cynthia Lummis s1sWyoming Democrat
Jim Marshall s1sGeorgia Former Democrat (until 2010)
Carolyn McCarthy s1sNew York Dem./Ind./Working-Families
Mike McIntyre s1sNorth Carolina Democrat
Michael Michaud s1sMaine Democrat
John Murtha s1sPennsylvania Democrat (Deceased Feb. 2010)
John Rockefeller s1sWV Democratic Sr Senator
Ike Skelton s1sMissouri Democrat (until 2010)
David Adam Smith s1sWashington Democrat
Debbie Stabenow s1sMI Democratic Jr Senator
Harry Teague s1sNew Mexico Democrat (until 2010)

Republicans participating in 2009-SJR15

Judy Biggert s1sIllinois Republican
Marsha Blackburn s1sTennessee Republican
Roy Blunt s1sMissouri Republican (until 2010)
John Boehner s1sOhio Republican
Charles Boustany s1sLouisiana Republican
Henry Brown s1sSouth Carolina Republican (until 2010)
Sam Brownback s1sKS Republican Governor
Jim Bunning s1sKY Republican Jr Senator (retiring 2010)
Richard Burr s1sNC Republican Sr Senator; previously Representative
Steve Buyer s1sIndiana Republican (until 2010)
Shelley Moore Capito s1sWest Virginia Republican
Saxby Chambliss s1sGA Republican Sr Senator
Tom Coburn s1sOK Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Thad Cochran s1sMS Republican Sr Senator
Susan Collins s1sME Republican Jr Senator
Mike Conaway s1sTexas Republican
Michael Crapo s1sID Republican Sr Senator
Jim DeMint s1sSC Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Jo Ann Emerson s2pMissouri Republican
Michael Enzi s1sWY Republican Sr Senator
Mary Fallin s1sOK Republican Governor
John Fleming s1sLouisiana Republican
Randy Forbes s1sVirginia Republican
Virginia Foxx s1sNorth Carolina Republican
Scott Garrett s1sNew Jersey Republican
Phil Gingrey s1sGeorgia Republican
Chuck Grassley s1sIA Republican Sr Senator
James Inhofe s1sOK Republican Sr Senator
Johnny Isakson s1sGA Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Mike Johanns s1sNE Former Republican Governor (2005-2007); elected Senator 2008
Peter King s1sNew York Rep./Ind./Cons./Right-To-Life
John Kline s1sMinnesota Republican
Tom Latham s1sIowa Republican
Bob Latta s1sOhio Republican
Frank LoBiondo s1sNew Jersey Republican
Blaine Luetkemeyer s1sMissouri Republican
Richard Lugar s1sIN Republican Sr Senator
Donald Manzullo s1sIllinois Republican
Michael McCaul s1sTexas Republican
John McHugh s1sNew York Republican/Conservative
Candice Miller s1sMichigan Republican
Gary Miller s1sCalifornia Republican
Jeff Miller s1sFlorida Republican
Jerry Moran s1sKansas Republican (until 2010)
Lisa Murkowski s1sAK Republican Sr Senator
Tim Murphy s1sPennsylvania Republican
Randy Neugebauer s1sTexas Republican
Erik Paulsen s1sMinnesota Republican
Todd Platts s1sPennsylvania Republican (Retiring 2012)
Bill Posey s1sFlorida Republican
Dennis Rehberg s1sMontana Republican (Senate run 2012)
Jim Risch s1sID Former Republican Governor (2006-2007); U.S. Senator
Pat Roberts s1sKS Republican Sr Senator
Phil Roe s1sTennessee Republican
Richard Shelby s1sAL Republican Jr Senator
John Shimkus s1sIllinois Republican
Bill Shuster s1sPennsylvania Republican
Mike Simpson s1sIdaho Republican
Christopher Smith s1sNew Jersey Republican
Olympia Snowe s1sME Republican Sr Senator
Lee Terry s1sNebraska Republican
John Thune s1sSD Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Todd Tiahrt s1sKansas Republican (until 2010)
David Vitter s2pLA Republican Jr Senator; previously Representative
Zach Wamp s1sTennessee Republican (until 2010)
Roger Wicker s1sMississippi Republican (Senate 2008)
Joe Wilson s1sSouth Carolina Republican
Robert Wittman s1sVirginia Republican
Frank Wolf s1sVirginia Republican
Bill Young s1sFlorida Republican

Independents participating in 2009-SJR15

Total recorded by OnTheIssues:

Democrats: 21
Republicans: 70
Independents: 0

Reproduction of material from any OnTheIssues.org pages without written permission is prohibited.
Copyright © 1999-2022 Jesse Gordon and OnTheIssues.org , all rights reserved.
OnTheIssues.org 1770 Massachusetts Ave. #630, Cambridge MA 02140

E-mail us at:submit at OnTheIssues.org
(Editorial staff, for news and corrections)
Business information (Dr. Naomi Lichtenberg, for partnerships and advertising)
Political information (Jesse Gordon, for content and technical matters)
About Us (We report about campaigns; please don't write us if you want to reach any campaign!)
  Newsletter     Signup  
Or click for More Info.